Slow times

I was doing so well at posting this year and then this week I fell off the wagon but here I am back and posting the events of the past 3 days. First off the weather continues to be the topic of conversation around town no one seems to remember a winter where the snow has stayed this long however it is warming up today(saturday). We had a structure fire on Thursday morning which turned out to be one of those metal shipping containers. We got the fire out quickly but these are very dangerous things to deal with especially when they have been modified and are used to store who knows what.   Friday was another ski trip up the mountain it was foggy and lightly snowing in the morning but the afternoon was beautiful.

005  023

The trip down was one of the worst I have had in a while, the road was slippery and the kids on the bus were so noisy I had to stop and tell them to be quiet. It is hard for me to concentrate on driving when there is all kinds of noise going on. To make up for that we had a great evening with Cassy.

At some point in time a while ago I opened a cheep bottle of wine to drink in the evening and Deb commented that I should drink the better wine and use the cheep ones for times when there are people here drinking my wine who don’t really care what it is as long as it is free. So Wednesday I opened a good bottle of Fairview cellars Cabernet Sauvignon and she commented on me drinking such a good wine ? go figure. We didn’t finish the bottle even though she had a couple of glasses as well but Friday night I opened a bottle of Jackson Triggs Cabernet blend It is a mid priced wine that was quite nice but not great. We were sitting and talking with Cassy and having a great time when we noticed that the wine was gone so we sent Deb on a search for more while Cassy and I finished the Fairview Cabernet, it was still good. When Deb returned she had a bottle of Church and State “Q”. When I asked why she picked such a good (and expensive)wine she said this was the kind of Friday evening that required a great bottle of wine so she picked one of the best. I must admit that the evening was great, the wine was great,and all in all a fantastic evening that did deserve one of the best wines we had. It made up for a stressful afternoon I had.

This entry was posted in cheep wine, Church and State wine, Fairview Cellars, Jackson Triggs, Mt. Baldy, Quinisential, Ski trip, snow, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slow times

  1. Georgina McGee says:

    glad you’re back!

  2. The Senior Dakegro says:

    I keep hearing so much about this “Good Old Cowboy Red” !!!! It must be a good one because I never get to drink it!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

