Christmas is coming sooner than you think

Here it is Dec.3 and I am starting to count down the days. To day the tempeture here got to 9 degrees a sure sign of global warming this is one part of it that I can live with. In the midst of that I had some thoughts about getting older(reoccurring theme lately) this is something that I try to avoid. I know that the alternative to getting older is dieing young and since I am past young I am faced with getting older but not necessarily growing up. I was thinking of the things I am not able to do as quickly or as easily as I used to, and there are some things I just don’t want to do anymore,and then I thought about the great country song “I’m not as good as I once was but I’m as good once as I ever was” when I add that to my other favorite saying “the older I get the better I was” I think I am going to be ok for a few more years, my goal is still to live longer than my Mother did, so far it’s working out. In another couple of weeks I will again dress up as the elf and parade around town so people can get a laugh, laughing is a good thing.

When you get older you think back to your childhood, I unfortunately do not have a lot of memories of my childhood it could be because of a blow to my head as a small child or perhaps I have somehow blocked out most of my childhood , I wonder why and how I would do that. I can recall the stories but I have a fear that over the years in the retelling of the story the actual events may not be exactly as portrayed. I do have lots of great memories of the more recent past and Christmas is one of my favorites. One of the things I do remember from my childhood is some small Christmas tree ornaments that looked like a santa or an elf I think they were made of something like pipe cleaners and at some point there were bubble lights. I think one year we got some kind of cutout indian village that you cut the figures out and put them together and you could move them around. I don’t actually remember getting it but I remember playing with it so I am just guessing it was a Christmas or birthday present. There are a few other things I remember from my childhood but none of them are about Christmas. another time I may write about some of the more bazar memories I have, now that I think about it I remember more stories than I thought .

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas is coming sooner than you think

  1. Anonymous says:

    Dear Brother:
    I got the cowboys and indians. You got to be the indians and you got killed a lot.

Leave a Reply

